Party time in Christchurch for Karewa…

sdvdsfbfds427790_422943677753515_897597670_n (1) 10151559_277518395748722_451224739_n

Arrived back from Christchurch yesterday evening after going down Thursday morning for my youngest grandson’s 8th birthday.

I had a great few days there. Thursday morning it was a cake to pick up for Karewa’s classmates. Chocolate! Bit rich for two or three kids, but the rest devoured their piece.

My daughter and I visited my 93 year old aunt who had a photo of my late father, somebody I never knew and who  died in 1966. Memories for my daughter and her sons to share anon. Aunty Mary is still very lucid with her memories of my late father and others in her life.

We also visited both the lawn cemetery where many of my family members reside for eternity. We also visited my father’s grave at another cemetery. It was really a quietly  emotional time for me, somebody not normally so inclined.  A few thoughts and memories for me to consider when I return home.

Saturday was Karewa’s party day at the local Chipmunks indoor playland. Some food and drink later for his invited guests,  some of his classmates from school, his elder brother Tangaroa and his friend. Karewa the king for an hour on his throne, pictured above.

It was then time for me to say goodbye to the birthday boy and depart for the airport and the flight back to Wellington.

It was really great to spend some time down in Christchurch with my daughter and her family. I miss them since they went south to Christchurch. A bit longer perhaps later in the summer.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Leave a comment

Content Catnip

Quirky internet wunderkammer

The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Home of everything relating to writing (and funny pictures of toys)

Just Stimming...

A land we can share (a place I can map)

Turbokitty's Blog

News/Politics/Events

Imperator Fish

A blog about the media, the law, politics, and big fish

[Insiders]

Stuff worth sharing

Sparrowhawk/Kārearea

Looking for choice morsels of currents affairs, culture, and politics to chew on. Or spit out hastily. It depends.

Nonoy Manga

Manga, Hand Drawn, Animation, Drawing Lessons.

Friendly Fairy Tales

Celebrating Nature and Magic for Kids of all Ages

Cindy Knoke

Photography, Birds and Travel

BoubacarsowNews

Retrouvez toutes les informations du monde en temps réel

BIGSARGE.NET

CHECKPOINT CHARLIE

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Creepy Cincinnati

Cincinnati Hauntings & Urban Legends